Friday, December 28


Jackson Hole Moose 

Sun Valley Suns




FIRST PERIOD—(1) Jackson Hole, A.J. Sanders 7 (Drew Akins), 9:12, power play goal. (2) SV, Max Tardy 5 (D.J. Robinson), 10:15. (3) Jackson Hole, Charlie Hagen 4 (Jake Leitner, Brad Improta), 11:20.

SECOND PERIOD—(4) SV, Spencer Brendel 2 (unassisted), 3:09, shorthanded goal. (5) SV, Ryan Enrico 2 (Chad O’Brien, Derek Grimes), 11:12. (6) SV, Tardy 6 (Stephen Inman), 18:06. (7) Jackson Hole, Kyle Krauss 3 (Tom Hartnett), 19:38.

THIRD PERIOD—(8) SV, Tardy 7 (Enrico), 5:32, power play and hat trick goal. (9) Jackson Hole, Ben Pullar 1 (Leitner, Hagen), 11:53. (10) Jackson Hole, Kevin Sunde 7 (Chase Wharton), 12:44, power play goal.

OVERTIME (5 minutes, 3-on-3, golden goal)—No scoring.

OVERTIME SHOOTOUT—(11) SV, Robinson 3, game-winning goal.

SHOTS ON GOAL—Jackson Hole 8-6-5-6-5 for 30; Sun Valley 10-10-9-2-5 for 36.

GOALIES—Jackson Hole, Nick Krauss (30 saves, 6-2-1 record); Sun Valley, Bobby Bowden (25 saves, 4-0 record).

OFFICIALS—Tyler Hanson and David Patrie and Tyler Hanson (referees); Eric Wingard and Curt Martin (linesmen).


NOTES—By game time, there were already 602 fans counted inside the rink by Head of Security Brian Hamel . At the end of the first period, the total was 974……Suns forward lines were Spencer Brendel-Justin Taylor-Kevin Kaiser, Rasmus Andersson-Chad O’Brien-Dylan Shamburger, captain Ryan Enrico-Derek Grimes-Bryan O’Connell, DJ Robinson-Max Tardy-Doug Yeates. On defense were Sean O’Grady-Mike Curry, Stephen Inman-Tyler Lovejoy, Darrell Hay-Trevor Thomas…..Moose forward lines were Drew Akins-A.J. Sanders-Kevin Sunde, Tom Hartnett-Alex Dewitz-Kyle Krauss, Ben Pullar-Charlie Hagen-Jake Leitner, Miller Resor-Charlie Bemis-Brian Upesleja. On defense were Dan Dupont-Chase Wharton, Brad Improta-Noah Goss-Woliner, and Sam Barrett……Trailing 2-1 after one period, Sun Valley equalized on a fine individual play by Spencer Brendel. He blocked a  Moose attack and broke down the right wing, finally beating Moose goalie Nick Krauss on the glove side with a wicked wrist shot for the first Suns shorthanded goal of the campaign……The Suns, 1-for-6 on the power play tonight, were stymied by Moose goalie Krauss on a couple of power-play chances in the waning moments of a 5-5 tie game in the third period…..When Dylan Shamburger was caught for a tripping penalty with 1:24 left in overtime, the Moose went on the power play. Suns goalie Bobby Bowden came up big stopping excellent close-in chances by Tom Hartnett with 36 seconds left, and by Drew Akins with less than one second remaining…….Suns coach John Burke sent out Dylan Shamburger as his first penalty shooter, but the officials reminded Burke that Shamburger was technically still in the penalty box and couldn’t join the shootout…….Moose shooters, in order, were Alex Dewitz, A.J. Sanders, Drew Akins, Kyle Krauss and finally Chase Wharton…..Suns shooters, in order, was Max Tardy, Chad O’Brien, Mike Curry, Kevin Kaiser and finally D.J. Robinson for the game winner…..Now, covering two-plus seasons, the Suns have played 14 OT games……With tonight’s OT shootout victory, Sun Valley improved its franchise record to 44-42-20 in 106 overtime games over 44 seasons. They are 12-15 in 27 shootouts since 1998…..Since 2009, the Suns have won 12 of their 25 overtime games……There have been 32 game-winning OT scorers in Suns history. Here is a list of game-winning OT scorers in Suns history: Ryan Enrico 3 times, Jamie Ellison 3, Vilnis Nikolaisons 2, Paul Baranzelli 2, John Finnegan 2, Kurt Wenzell 2, Phil Hoene 2, Paul Cartmill 2, Branislav Kost 2, DJ Robinson 1, Dylan Shamburger 1, Sean O’Grady 1, Bryan O’Connell 1, Adam Swain 1, Jeremy Mylymok 1, Eric Demment 1, Luke Smith 1, Brian Watts 1, Tom Forti 1, Dale Johnson 1, Spencer Brendel 1, Mark Broz 1, Pat Kearney 1, Rip Kirby 1, Terry Heneghan 1, Chas Riopel 1, Brian Saksa 1, Beets Johnson 1, Phil Hebert 1, Sean O’Connell 1, Mike Curry 1 and Marty Flichel 1……




Friday, December 28


Jackson Hole Moose 

Sun Valley Suns




FIRST PERIOD—(1) SV, Sean O’Grady 2 (D.J. Robinson, Mike Curry), 10:33, power play goal. (2) SV, Justin Taylor 1 (Curry, Spencer Brendel), 17:20, power play goal. (3) SV, Rasmus Andersson 5 (Max Tardy), 17:40, power play goal.

SECOND PERIOD—(4) Jackson Hole, Tom Hartnett 5 (Noah Goss-Woliner), 1:26. (5) SV, Chad O’Brien 1 (Eric Demment, Darrell Hay), 7:20. (6) Jackson Hole, A.J. Sanders 8 (Chase Wharton, Drew Akins), 11:13.

THIRD PERIOD—No scoring.

SHOTS ON GOAL—Jackson Hole 9-10-14 for 33; Sun Valley 14-14-8 for 36.

GOALIES—Jackson Hole, Nick Krauss (32 saves, 6-3-1 record); Sun Valley, Matt Cooper (31 saves, 3-1 record).

OFFICIALS—Tyler Hanson and David Patrie (referees); Alex Romashko and Curt Martin (linesmen).


NOTES—The leading weekend scorer was Max Tardy (3 goals/1 assist)……The Moose blistered the Suns with an 11-4 shooting edge in the first 13 minutes of the third period, but Suns goalie Matt Cooper was very tough, especially with two huge saves on the dangerous Tom Hartnett……Winning tonight’s Suns jersey was Hannah Dayton…..In the 19-year, 81-game series between the two ski resort teams, the Moose now lead 47-33-1 including a 27-11-1 home record at Snow King Center. The Suns improved their advantage to 22-20 in games played in Sun Valley and Hailey and have won four of the last five games played between the two teams at Campion Ice House…..Over five seasons since the BDHL started in 2014, Sun Valley and Jackson Hole have played 23 games and the Suns boast a 13-10 advantage in those meetings including a split of the four championship game clashes. At home, the Suns are 7-4 over the Moose  during the five seasons…….Suns forward lines tonight were DJ Robinson-Max Tardy-Doug Yeates, Spencer Brendel-Justin Taylor-Kevin Kaiser, Rasmus Andersson-Chad O’Brien-Dylan Shamburger, Taylor Rothgeb-Derek Grimes-captain Ryan Enrico, Niels McMahon-Eli Conrad-Trevor Thomas. On defense were Sean O-Grady-Mike Curry, Stephen Inman-Tyler Lovejoy, Eric Demment-Darrell Hay…….Moose forward lines were Kevin Sunde-A.J. Sanders-Drew Akins, Jake Leitner-Charlie Hagen-Ben Pullar, Tom Hartnett-Kyle Krauss-Alex Dewitz. Defensemen were Brad Improta-Noah Goss-Woliner along with Chase Wharton, Dan Dupont and Sam Barrett……Improta left the game with an injury in the third period and did not return…..The top Moose scorers after 12 games are A.J. Sanders (8 goals/14 assists), Kevin Sunde (7-10), Tom Hartnett (5/11), Drew Akins (9-7) and Alex Dewitz (8-6). Together, they have scored 37 goals in 12 games, but the Suns limited the five to just four goals on Campion ice. Top goal scorer Akins came up empty…….For the weekend, the Suns ended up 4-for-10 on the power play, and Moose 2-for-11…….Through eight games last year, the Suns had a 5-3 record and had outscored opponents 44-21. Through eight games this season, the Suns are 7-1 with a 33-25 scoring edge….Tonight’s game was the 992nd in Suns history and the 674th win…

Email the writer:

Load comments