U.S. Olympic gold medalists Mikaela Shiffrin (alpine ski racing) and Chloe Kim (snowboard) are among 10 Individual Sport Finalists in the 2018 Sportswoman of the Year contest being held by the Women’s Sports Foundation (WSF).

    Also nominated in the Team Sports category are Jessie Diggins and Kikkan Randall (cross-country skiing), Maia Shibutani (ice dancing), Julie Ertz (soccer) and goalie Maddie Rooney (ice hockey).

    Other Individual Sport nominees include U.S. athletes Claressa Shields (boxing), Hannah Roberts (cycling), Simone Manuel (swimming), Oksana Masters (Paralympic Nordic skiing) and Shalene Flanagan (track and field).

    Finalists were chosen on performances between Aug. 1, 2017 and June 30, 2018. The public and the WSF Awards Committee select award winners. The winner in each category is the athlete with the highest combined share of the public vote (50% of composite) and Awards Committee vote (50% of composite).

    Voting runs from July 23 through Friday, Aug. 3. Vote at sportswomanoftheyear.com. The 2018 award winners will be announced during the 39th annual Salute to Women in Sports Oct. 17. Visit womenssportsfoundation.org.

Load comments