The Brundage Mountain “all comers” mountain bike races that christened the 2019 Idaho Interscholastic Cycling League (IICL) prep season on Saturday, Aug. 24 turned out to be a big success at McCall.

Wood River’s team sent 35 high school and 37 middle school racers to “The Blast Off at Brundage” race that attracted a total 414 high school racers and 348 from middle school. It added up to 762 entrants for the busy day.

It was a close finish among 13 Division 1 high schools.

The Pocatello Pioneers/Highland High team piled up 4,100 points among its 16 racers to outdistance second-place McCall Composite (4,020) and third-place Wood River (3,989).

Wood River’s Anja Jensen won the three-lap Female Varsity race by 46 seconds. Luci Ludwig podiumed in third place among Female Junior Varsity 1 racers, and Paige DeHart was third in the Female Freshman category.

There were 99 high school girls, 13 from Wood River.

Cracking the top 10 in the 315-racer high school boys races were Elias Svennungsen with a 10th place over four laps in Male Varsity, Griffin Connelly 10th in Male Junior Varsity 1, and Galen Grohusky fourth and Zander Douglas seventh Male Freshman.

Wood River entered 22 boys in the high school races.

Middle School eighth-grader Oliver Smith topped the 115-racer boys’ race by 33 seconds, with teammate Dexter Morrison in fourth place just 56 seconds back.

Other top Wood River Middle School results were Sadie Rector’s second place in 8th grade girls, 12 seconds off the top time, and Ruby Smith’s second place in 6th grade girls.      Wood River raced 10 middle school girls and 27 boys.

Next IICL races are Saturday, Sept. 7 at Grand Targhee.

Here are top results for Saturday’s Brundage “Blast Off”:


Division 1 teams: 1—Highland of Pocatello (16 bikers) 4,100 points. 2—McCall Composite (28) 4,020. 3—Wood River High (35) 3,989. 4—Boise Braves (67) 3,957. 5—Timberline of Boise 3,753 (13 teams).

Female varsity: 1—Anja Jensen (by 46 seconds) (3 laps).

Male varsity: 9—Elias Svennungsen. 12—Zane Lyon. 14—Sebastian Radl-Jones. Also: Blake DeHart (4 laps).

Female JV 2 (junior varsity): 9—Ashley Eggers. 10—Malia Foley. 20—Paige DeShields. 28—Kaia Wolfrom.

Male JV 2: 43—Shane Kelsey. 47—Daniel Ziesing. 69—Ashton Rinehart.

Female JV 1 (sophomores): 3—Luci Ludwig.

Male JV 1: 10—Griffin Connelly. 43—Ramsey Marquis. 46—Hayden Wilson. 58—Sebastian Hanks.

Female freshman: 3—Paige DeHart (5:03 back). 4—Lila Hess. 5—Aisley Grohusky. 14—Eloise Pendl-Hebert. 19—Parker Boyd. 20—Camas Filbert. 33—Skade Quesnel.

Male freshman: 4—Galen Grohusky. 7—Zander Douglas. 15—Clayton Elsbree. 18—Cree Johanningmeier. 27—Rabbit Buxton. 28—Lucas Savage. 33—Dane Malko. 65—Brock Burrell. 70—Daniel Riggs. 75—David Mandeville. Also: Mosi Slotten.


8th grade boys: 1—Oliver Smith. 4—Dexter Morrison. 14—Spencer Ferries. 33—Gavin Smart. 45—Wyatt Vandiver. 47—Lucas Smith. 49—Owen Thompson. 60—Dylan Benson. 63—Finn Wolfrom. 83—Tyler Wallace. 91—Ryan Sandoz. 98—Aleczander Hanks. 107—Noah Hill. 110—Per Dixon. 113—Noah Wright.

8th grade girls: 2—Sadie Rector. 24—Lillian Snell.

7th grade boys: 15—Wyatt Crego. 18—Zach Quesnel. 28—Ben Gross. 36—Rayce Nelson. 38—Orrie DeShields. 52—Chris Perez. 58—Wyatt Dunn. 76—Luke Miller. 81—McKay Wilson.

7th grade girls: 11—Lowie Watkins. 18—Mazzy Conners. 23—Rylee McMinn. 31—Essence Franz.

6th grade boys: 9—Kai VanBueren. 30—Karsen Miller. 31—Hank Huntsman.

6th grade girls: 2—Ruby Smith. 31—Liv Herlinger. 32—Alyssa Huntsman. 40—Isabella Perez.

Load comments