Teams are signing up for the 2019 Sun Valley Budweiser Town Series of alpine ski races coming to Baldy in two weeks.

     The 28th annual Sun Valley Town Series of Wednesday team alpine ski begins Jan. 23 on Baldy. Courses alternate between Warm Springs and Cozy ski runs on Baldy.

     Alpine team racing for locals over six weeks starts Wednesday, Jan. 23 and lasts through Wednesday, March 27.

     Each race begins at 11 a.m. No racing is held on Feb. 20 and March 13. Watkins Distributing of Twin Falls is co-sponsor with Sun Valley Co.

     Mike Wrobel of the Sun Valley Race Department said racers and teams should sign up now at the Warm Springs Lodge Ski School/Race Desk.

     Dates for the Town Series dual modified giant slalom races are: Jan. 23 and Jan. 30 (on Lower Warm Springs’ Arc Park); Feb. 13 and Feb. 27; March 6, 20 and 27. Mandatory combined two-run races are Feb. 27 and March 27.

     Other racing dates are determined by best single runs. The three racers with the lowest points for each team are combined to calculate a team’s total weekly points.

     Post-race parties include Jan. 23 at The Cellar Pub in Ketchum; Jan. 30 at Mahoney’s Bar & Grill in Bellevue; March 20 at Lefty’s Bar & Grill in Ketchum; and March 27 for the finale at Whiskey Jacques.

     The cost is $400 per team. If paid on and after Jan. 30, the cost rises to $400. Telemarkers, snowboarders and downhillers are welcome. Call 622-6356 or email

     The names of 20 racers from the top five teams in the final series standings are entered into a drawing for the grand prize of four Sun Valley 2019-20 season ski passes. That drawing occurs at the March 27 final party at Whiskey Jacques.

     Last year, Irish Electric Dancing Bears returned to the top team spot, and Harlan Collins of The Giant Salmons continued his two-year reign as the wire-to-wire winner of the Sun Valley Town Series. Irish Electric captured its third Town Series team title in six years.

     Sun Valley 2018-19 season ski pass winners in the final drawing for the grand prize were Baird Gourlay, Curt Williams and Steve Heiderich of Hirsute Club, and Paige Lethbridge of the Dancing Bears.

     On the 2018 “Dream Team” were Mike Simcheck, Alex Jackson of Chicks on Sticks, Steve Heiderich of Hirsute Club and Rick Lethbridge of the Dancing Bears.

Load comments