19-08-21 Muffy Davis.jpg

Muffy Davis

As of today, there are 336 days remaining until opening ceremonies of the 2020 Summer Olympics in Tokyo, Japan.

Yet there are only 12 days left in the three-week public voting period that will contribute greatly to the list of new inductees for the 2019 U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame class.

Idaho voters can cast online ballots for Hailey’s Muffy Davis and former Wood River Valley resident Dara Torres. The voting period is Aug. 12-Sept. 3. Visit teamusa.org/HallofFame to vote.

This is the first year since 2012 that the Olympic Hall of Fame has enshrined a new class. Nominations for the 2019 class were made at teamusa.org in a three-week period from March 12-April 2.

The Class of 2019 will be announced in late September, and inducted in November.

Besides the tally of the public vote, finalists will be voted upon by members of the U.S. Olympic and Paralympic families, and National Governing Bodies.

The new class will include five Olympians, three Paralympians, two legends, one Olympic or Paralympic team, one Olympic or Paralympic coach, and one special contributor.

 Muffy Davis, 46, a three-time Olympian (alpine skiing 1998, 2002 and cycling 2012) won five Paralympic medals including three gold medals.

A member of the U.S. Ski and Snowboard Association Hall of Fame, Davis is one of nine Paralympians on this year’s Olympic ballot.

Dara Torres, 52, now of Dover, Mass., is one of 15 Olympians on the 2019 ballot. Besides Torres, the list includes basketball’s Lisa Leslie and Anne Donovan, beach volleyball’s Misty May-Treanor, short track speedskater Apolo Anton Ohno and freestyle skier Jonny Moseley.

Torres is known for her longevity and achievements in swimming.

A five-time Olympian (1984, 1988, 1992, 2000 and 2008), Torres won 12 Olympic medals including four gold, captured 16 national titles and set eight U.S. swimming records.

She was the most decorated female athlete at the 2000 Sydney Olympics with five medals including golds in the 400 medley and freestyle relays. In 2008, at age 41, she became the oldest female swimmer to ever compete in the Olympics.

Beginning with its first class in 1983, the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame has 141 inductees including 109 individual Olympians and Paralympians, four coaches and 18 special contributors. In addition, there are 10 Olympic teams.

The first Olympic Hall of Fame class in 1983 included Johnny Weissmuller, Jim Thorpe, Jesse Owens, Rafer Johnson, Peggy Fleming Jenkins, Muhammed Ali, Bob Beamon, Dick Button, Eric Heiden, Mark Spitz, Al Oerter and Don Schollander.

Sun Valley inductees are Dick Fosbury (inducted in 1992) and Picabo Street (2009).

Others Olympic Hall of Famers are Andrea Mead Lawrence (2009), Carol Heiss (2008), Herb Brooks (2006), Kristi Yamaguchi (2006), Edwin Moses (1985), Phil Mahre (1992), Carl Lewis (1985), Scott Hamilton (1990), Dorothy Hamill (1991), Brian Boitano (2008) and Tenley Albright (1988).

Hall of Fame teams include the 1960 and 1980 U.S. men’s hockey teams, and 1996 U.S. Olympic women’s soccer team.

Starting in early 2020, the U.S. Olympic and Paralympic Hall of Fame will be housed at the U.S. Olympic and Paralympic Museum in Colorado Springs, Co.

This year’s new Olympic class will continue a system where new Hall of Fame classes will be inducted every two years. Previous classes were inducted annually from 1983-92, and every two years from 2004-12.

The last class enshrined in 2012 included Gail Devers, Jean Driscoll, Lisa Fernandez, Gary Hall Jr., Kristine Lilly, Dan O’Brien, Jenny Thompson, James Connolly, Ted Stevens and Ed Temple.

Email the writer: sports@mtexpress.com

Load comments