19-07-03 britt and kristen@.jpg

Valley Club President’s Cup women’s leaders for 2019 included Championship Flight gross stroke winner Britt Palmedo (left) and net champion Kristen O’Reilly.

Mother Nature blessed The Valley Club’s Member-Member golf tourney with two nearly perfect days of weather Friday and Saturday, June 28-29.

Steve Miner and Glen Shapiro rose from the second- to-last flight and claimed the 2019 Member-Member Championship at the Hailey club.

In second place were Jack Dies and Kurt Funkhouser.

Fifty-one two-person teams battled for the title. The field was divided into five men’s flights and one women’s flight with the top two teams from each men’s flight and the top women’s team moving into the horserace on the final day.

On Friday, the participants competed in a nine-hole scramble format followed by a nine-hole best ball. Teams that led after the first day knew that the two prior events were a warm-up for things to come.

Saturday’s second day offered an alternate shot format during which one teammate drove the ball and the other teammate hit the next shot. Golfers alternated hitting until the ball was holed.

The final format, a stroke play aggregate, was where anything could happen. Both players played their own ball until the ball was holed.

“In this format, a player can take a 12 on a hole and knock their team from first to last place in a matter of minutes. It was a true test of nerves,” stated Jaime Sharp, Director of Golf for The Valley Club.

After a grueling final day, the Women’s Division champions were declared after the fourth round.

Cynthia Hull and Robin Robertson shot a total of a half stroke over par to clinch the Women’s Member-Member Championship.

The top 12 teams then moved on to the five-round horserace. Each round was played on the same hole but from a different tee box. A predetermined number of teams were eliminated based on their net score.

The runners-up and the wild-card team consisting of Jack Dies and Kurt Funkhouser played a steady game and showed outstanding putting skills. But it wasn’t enough to capture the title.

That’s because Miner and Shapiro never gave up despite finding trouble in every round of the two-day tournament.

Sharp said, “It was amazing. If you thought that they were out of it, they would pull off a shot that would even surprise them!”

On the final hole, Shapiro used the touch of a surgeon to gently coax the ball into the air, which was required for the downhill chip shot. The ball landed softly and drifted to within eight inches.

It was close enough to the hole to garner a concession and a win. Results follow:


Top teams

Overall champions: Steve Miner and Glen Shapiro.

Runners-up: Jack Dies and Kurt Funkhouser.

Show Team: Jim Meeks and Lou Mace.

Flight winners

Butch Cassidy Flight: 1st—Jerry Graham and Mike Sadler -6. 2nd—John Hatzenbuehler and Daniel Hollis -3.5.  

Wyatt Earp Flight: 1st—Jamie Everitt and John Murray -2. 2nd—Richard Davis and Chris Stephens -1.

Jesse James Flight: 1st—Glenn Silcott and Bruce Kaplan -14.5. 2nd—Ron Fairfax and John Wolcott -12.5.

Billy The Kid Flight: 1st—Jay Cassell and Blair Hull -0.5. 2nd—Steven Miner and Glen Shapiro 2.

Doc Holliday Flight: 1st—Ron Fields and Steve Karassik -0.5. 2nd—Jim Meeks and Lou Mace 2.

Annie Oakley Flight: 1st—Cynthia Hull and Robin Robertson 0.5. 2nd—Vicki Shapiro and Gina Wolcott 5.

Load comments