Great Basin Conference

Posing at last Wednesday’s Great Basin Conference meet in Twin Falls are Wood River girls’ state qualifiers, from left, Alex Rogers, Quenia Gonzalez, Jenna Nurge, Tatnall Watts, Lauren Roberts, Sascha Leidecker and Magda Houzvickova. Not shown is state qualifier Claire de Saint Phalle.

     Wood River High School seniors Gabe Smith-Nilsen and Alex Rogers led the 32-member Hailey team to the finish line during the state-qualifying Great Basin Conference championship meet last Wednesday on a 3.1-mile Twin Falls course.

     Smith-Nilsen (16:53, 3rd overall) was only 24 seconds off the top time, and Rogers (22:15, 9th place) stepped up to lead the Wolverine girls, who qualified as a team for the State 4A competition Saturday, Oct. 28 at Eagle Island State Park, Boise.

     The other seven state qualifiers from Wood River were Sascha Leidecker, Jenna Nurge, Claire de Saint Phalle, Magda Houzvickova, Quenia Gonzalez, Lauren Roberts and Tatnall Watts.

     Wood River coach Monte Brothwell said, “Perfect day. I’m proud of all these runners this year.

     “The boys’ team took a hit with four of our top seven sick over the last two weeks. They tried hard but just couldn’t make it up. The girls came through with a great race. Alex Rogers again pulled off her best race at district.”

     Twin Falls swept the team titles on a nice fall day with 195 runners.

     The Bruins (15 points) swept the top five places led by sophomore Mattalyn Geddes (19:03). The Twin Falls boys edged Canyon Ridge 34-50. Twin Falls senior Cannon Leavitt (16:29) was the district medalist.

     Results (from follow for Wood River runners at the Oct. 18 meet on the College of Southern Idaho course:

     Great Basin boys: 1—Cannon Leavitt (Twin Falls) 16:29. 3—Gabe Smith-Nilsen 16:53. 15—Will McGonigal 17:59. 17—Lance Heyrend 18:02. 23—Dylan Heyrend 18:31. 28—Anthony Corrales 18:56. 31—Christian Bothwell 19:10.1. 32—Isaac Gonzalez 19:10.2. 36—Dane Thompson 19:16. 39—Steve Roth 19:27. 44—Jon Jon Watson 19:39. 66—Evan O’Leary 21:12. 68—Jorgen Lawrence 21:16. 71—Mike Marquez 21:40. 73—Zach Sabina 21:51. 78—Mason Johnson 21:54. 100—Liam Jones 24:01.0. 101—Jose Gonzalez 24:01.2. 103—Davey Schrader 24:16. 110—Ben Anderson 25:31. 115—Sebastian Zavala 26:15. 116—Colby Nance 26:16 (119 finishers).

     Boys’ team scores: 1—Twin Falls 34. 2—Canyon Ridge of Twin Falls 50. 3—Jerome 72. 4—Wood River 85. 5—Burley 124. 6—Minico 162.

     Great Basin girls: 1—Mattalyn Geddes (Twin Falls) 19:03. 9—Alex Rogers 22:15. 11—Sascha Leidecker 22:32. 17—Jenna Nurge 23:53. 18—Claire de Saint Phalle 24:05. 23—Magda Houzvickova 24:48. 26—Quenia Gonzalez 24:56. 35—Lauren Roberts 25:44.7 and Tatnall Watts 25:44.7. 37—Anna Bernbaum 25:45. 39—Rosemary Wright 25:47. 58—Ellie Gorham 28:36 (76 finishers).

     Girls’ team scores: 1—Twin Falls 15. 2—Jerome 55. 3—Wood River 67. 4—Canyon Ridge 106. 5—Minico 152.

Load comments