17-05-31 wrhs boys letter signing@.jpg

Last Thursday in Hailey, Wood River seniors signing letters of intent to attend college and play sports are, from left, Kyle Nelson (Western Tech, baseball), Zach Nelson (Univ. of Redlands), Travis Swanson (Occidental College, football) and Owen Gifford (Bowdoin College, football).

     Wood River High School athletic and activities director Kevin Stilling presided in that role at his first Bob Shay Most Inspirational Awards banquet Thursday at the Hailey school.

     He called the two-and-a-half hour feast of praise about outstanding Wolverine students “a rewarding evening, and a necessary one.”

     Guest speaker Jeannie Bradshaw talked in depth about Bob Shay, an educator and coach for 33 years in the Blaine County School District. Shay’s example, and his insistence on requiring “only their best” from his athletes, set Shay apart, she said.

     Wood River drama teacher Karl Nordstrom knew Shay and said the legendary Hailey teacher and coach “pushed athletes hard to see what their best was, and then pushed them harder to achieve it.”

     Top Wood River students in extracurricular activities accepted accolades before a throng of teachers, coaches, family and friends at the Shay awards ceremony in the commons area.

     Wood River coaches voted for the “Outstanding Senior Athletes” for the 2016-17 year. The winners were Travis Swanson and Blair Radford.

     Named “Outstanding Seniors of Performing Arts” were Alma Ceja and Olivia Stimac.

     This was the 20th year WRHS honored three-sport letter winners who are the backbones of school’s extracurricular programs.

     Honored for three sports were Brock Mary, Zach Nelson, Owen Gifford, Taylor Koth and Cade Schott.

     Accepting the fifth Jim Boatwright Memorial Award were Kenny Pratt and Michelle Mason.

     Minico High All-State basketball star Boatwright had a distinguished career in college and pro basketball and taught at Wood River High School for 10 years before passing away in Feb. 2013.

     Allan Lee Patterson Memorial Awards were presented to two outstanding seniors. Selected by the coaching staff, Patterson honors were given for the 40th time to remember Hailey’s Allan Patterson, a 1975 Wood River graduate and alpine skier who died in 1977.

     The winners were Nicole Shardlow and Clay Cutler.

     Recipients of Senior Scholar/Athlete honors were Owen Gifford and Jesse Cole.

     Tess Hollister earned the Rose Bergin Memorial Award. It was given for the 36th time to the Wolverine girl who possesses the qualities of Bergin, a 1977 WRHS grad and runner who died of cancer.

     Nathan Stouffer received the 11th annual Monte Brothwell Unsung Hero Award honoring the Bellevue runner and 1972 state cross country champion who has completed 46-plus marathons.

     Given the 2016-17 “Wolverine Awards” were these students active in extracurricular activities:

     Maggie Belgioco, Beck Vontver and Dan De la Cruz for spirit; Megan Johnston, Jubal Toothman and Michelle Casas for leadership;

     Brock Olson, Zach Nelson and Annabelle Lewis for sportsmanship; Cade Schott, Kali Castle and Jens Blackman for tenacity.

     Cooper Dean and Clara Harding earned the Tim Neville Award named after the Wood River speech arts teacher whose Hailey teams won 21 district and 10 state championships before retiring.

     Bob Shay “Most Inspirational” awards were presented to athletes in each of the school’s varsity sports and to those in activities like drama, cheerleading and band.

     Shay award recipients were:

     · Fall sports—Turner Maza in football;McKinna Arial and Kali Castle in volleyball; Kenny Pratt and Addy Jacobsen in cross country; Clay Cutler in boys’ soccer; and Lupita Patlan in girls’ soccer.

     · Winter sports—Bodie Bennett in boys’ basketball; Blair Radford for a second straight year in girls’ basketball; and Andy Gallegos in wrestling.

     · Spring sports—Kenny Pratt for a third straight year in boys’ track, and Stella Barsotti in girls’ track; Clay Cutler for a second consecutive year and Sabrina Wathne in tennis;

     Jett Erickson in baseball; Brock Olson for a third consecutive year and Danielle Doerflein for a second year in boys’ and girls’ golf; and Adelle Martin in softball.

     · Other activities—Davey Schrader and Petra Glenn for a second straight year in debate and speech; Taylor Telford and Jose Aguayo in drama;

     Nathan Stouffer and Andrea Hernandez in band; Brendan Bingham and Ann Marie Deffe in choir; Antonio Munoz and Malila Freeman in orchestra; and Destiny Meeks for a second straight year in cheerleading.


Shay Cup is shared

     Presented for the 28th time was the “Shay Cup” to Wood River coaches in the name of Shay, an educator and coach for 33 years in the Blaine County School District.

     Sharing the 2017 Shay Cup were football coach Kevin Stilling, his third such honor, and orchestra teacher Rebecca Martin.

     Singled out as a retiring head coach was Rhett Jones.

     Past “Shay Cup” winners:

     Drama teacher Karl Nordstrom; girls’ basketball coach Mendy Benson; tennis coach Vicki Johnston; wrestling coaches Shawn Huntington and Rhett Jones; cheerleading and track coach Jeannie Bradshaw; cross country and track coach James Foster; and football coaches John Blackman and Mike Glenn;

     Baseball coach Lars Hovey; softball coach Chris Cey; softball coach Dale Martin (twice); tennis coach Nancy Williams; cross country coach Joel Zellers; boys’ soccer coach Brian Daluiso (twice); and band/choir teacher Bart Bailey;

     Speech arts coach Tim Neville (three times); debate coach Susan Worst; volleyball coach Dave Neumann; wrestling coach Tom Goicoechea; boys’ basketball coach Norm Cook; girls’ basketball/track coach J.C. Nemecek; girls’ soccer coach Tizz Strachan; cross country/track coach Bill Martell; and boys’ soccer coach Erik Larson.

Email the writer: sports@mtexpress.com

Load comments