Family, friends and teachers celebrated with Wood River High School students who received scholarships and awards Monday during the 2016 Wood River Scholarship Awards Ceremony in the Hailey school’s commons area.

An impressive array of organizations, memorial funds and individuals were responsible for scholarships given to Wood River students who are active in academics, community affairs and leadership.

“We thank the donors who make this possible,” said Wood River High principal John Pearce in his closing remarks.

The scholarships announced Monday night were:

· Leading the way was the Hailey Rotary Club, which has awarded scholarships at the high school since 1967. The Hailey Road Apple Roulette fundraiser raises the grant money.

The 13 Hailey Rotary $1,000 grants at Wood River High were presented to Brady Delgadillo, Bailey Rierden, Hallie MacPherson, Janelle Meyers, Kelsea Beck, Kylie Rountree, Lizbeth Ceja Cervantes, Madison Marcouiller, Michelle Casas Garcia, Molly Elgee, Waverly Brown, Zoe Gibson and Sophia Coplin.

· The Ketchum/Sun Valley Rotary announced 12 $1,000 scholarship recipients.

They were Ben Brunelle, Michelle Casas Garcia, Colby Castle, Alejandra Garcia, Gustavo Guillen, Madelyn Johnson, Sara Lichtenberg, Madison Marcouiller, Janelle Meyers, Illiah Pfau, Emily Scott and Jacob Truxal.

· Sun Valley Board of Realtors Distinction in Community Service scholarships went to Carlos Gonzalez, Wyatt Johnson, Jose Pedraza, Hallie MacPherson, Indie Landon, Bailey Rierden and Sophia Coplin.

Several scholarships have been managed through the Blaine County Education Foundation (BCEF) and were handed out Monday night.

· Delaney Brassil accepted the BCEF Scholarship.

· The six GRIT $500 scholarships at Wood River, based on character traits, were given to Kelsea Beck, Ashley Carnduff, Lizbeth Ceja Cervantes, Gustavo Guillen, Madison Marcouiller and Jackie Schultz.

· A third-year BCEF award called the AGL First Generation Scholarship went to Brady Delgadillo, Kelsea Beck and Alejandra Garcia. This year’s AGL Merit Scholarships were presented to Maria Fernanda Lagunas Torres and Lizbeth Ceja Cervantes.

· And the fourth-year BCEF Jean Todhunter Scholarship was given to Carmen Leslie.

· Receiving the second-year Chuck Gates Memorial Youth Endowment Scholarships were Megan Sfingi, Michelle Casas Garcia and Zuly Lapa.

· Wood River High graduate Stephanie Cimino announced winners of scholarships given for many years at the Hailey school by her grandparents, Jim and Barbara Cimino.

Barbara Cimino Memorial Scholarship winners were Zoe Gibson, Lauren Maddison Goldmann Busdon, Victor Manuel Vallejo Conlago and Cindy Hurtado.

Fifteen students received Student of Hispanic Origin Continuing Scholarships in memory of Jim Cimino.

They were Ana Karen Armenta, Jazmin Judith Carrillo Gonzalez, Lizbeth Ceja Cervantes, Esmeralda Mariela Garcia, Gustavo Garcia Guillen, Jessica Nataly Gonzalez, Maria Fernanda Lagunas Torres, Corine Lizarraga, Louie Mancera, Fredy Junior Mendiolaza Meza, Jose Salomon Pedraza, Berenice Garcia Regalado, Marisela Ruiz Worthington, Oscar Avila Rodriguez and Omar Salamanca.

Sun Valley Center grants

The Sun Valley Center for the Arts awarded more than $49,000 in scholarships to local high school and college students and educators in 2016.

Sarah Kolash, a Wood River High and University of Idaho graduate who is the Center’s Education Coordinator, announced the grants Monday night during the ceremony.

This is the 18th year of the Center’s scholarship program, she said, funds coming from private donors and the Center’s Wine Auction. Since the program began, 583 awards have been given worth over $800,000.

Leo Corrales, a Wood River High junior planning to study photography, earned the $5,000 Ezra Pound Award made possible by donations from Hailey resident Jennifer Wilson.

Recipients of the Sun Valley Center grants for arts and humanities scholarships were:

Kim Aranda, Monica Carrillo, Bryn Downey, Malila Freeman, Joseph Frye, Abbie Heaphy, Josie Koeplin, Alyssa Lamprecht, Annabelle Lewis, Antonio Munoz, Gina Pulleiro, Thalia Rojas, Cole Taylor, Tiana Taylor and Lance Verst.

Wood River High art teacher Betty Ervin was one of four local educators received Sun Valley Center funds to pursue professional development.

Other award recipients

Josh Pollock Memorial $4,000 scholarship from Power Engineers (presented for the 20th year): Sophia Coplin.

The Bob Shay Memorial Scholarship from the David Ketchum American Legion Post (given for the 17th year): Marisela Ruiz Worthington.

Other memorial grants:

The Wende Lee Thornton Memorial Scholarship from the Thornton family (presented for the 12th year): Carol Hoffman.

The fourth-year Joe Wiederrick Memorial Scholarship was given to Lane Felger in memory of the 2012 Wood River High graduate.

The third-year Cindy Lawson Kesting Memorial Scholarship for $2,000 was presented to Caitlyn Sfingi. Scholarship presenter Bob Kesting said that Sfingi can apply for the same amount in her sophomore, junior and senior years of college.

Alan and Diane Johnson Memorial Scholarship (13th year): Hallie MacPherson and Lizbeth Ceja Cervantes.

Brock Mary accepted the Wood River Select Basketball Scholarship given in memory of Roy Tinker.

Many organizations, groups and businesses from the valley also contributed grants.

Building Contractors of the Wood River Valley/Gregg Stowe Scholarships in the amount of $1,000 went to Jordan Bjorkman, Nathanial Atienza and Chloe Evans.

The $1,000 Dave Wilson/Jim Woodyard Scholarships were presented to Chloe Evans and Nathanial Atienza.

First-year Women in Business scholarships given by Jenny Conrad of Five Star Kitchen and Bath were given to Hallie MacPherson, Caitlyn Sfingi and Megan Sfingi.

Lizbeth Ceja Cervantes accepted the $1,000 PEO scholarship. Dual Immersion scholarships went to Zuly Lapa and Sophia Coplin.

D.L. Evans Bank Scholarship: Alejandra Garcia. Emmanuel Episcopal Church first-year $500 Scholarship: Anthony Thomas Flores Jr.

Betty Murphy Blaine County Democrats Award: Brady Delgadillo. The Drug Coalition Scholarship: Michelle Casas Garcia.

Bellevue Elementary Parent Teacher Association $1,000 grant: Carol Hoffman. Bellevue Chamber of Commerce Award: Jose Pedraza.

Marketron Scholarship: Austin Shetler. Sonja Tarney Scholarship: Kagen Albright. Technical Career Education Scholarship: Omar Salamanca.

Blaine County Education Association: Bailey Rierden. Dick Metz Surfing Heritage Foundation Scholarship: Jacqueline Schultz.

Vision Source of Ketchum and Hailey: Ashley Carnduff. Wood River Medical Society: Lizbeth Ceja Cervantes and Michelle Casas Garcia.

Smith College Book Award for an outstanding junior: Jesse Cole.

Email the writer:

Load comments