Headline: Sawtooth football selects top players for 2019

Underride: Carey’s Simpson named “Player of the Year”

Nutgraph: [Click here and type the Nut:]

Isolated Quote: [Click here and type Quote:]

Sawtooth Conference teams Carey High School and Lighthouse Christian Academy of Twin Falls earned top honors and spots on the 2019 Sawtooth All-League eight-man football teams revealed Monday, Nov. 25.

The Sawtooth coaches voted upon offensive and defensive selections at a post-season meeting.

Lighthouse Christian (11-0) capped an unbeaten season with a 34-28 overtime win over Carey (10-2) in the State 1A Division 2 title game Nov. 23 at Holt Arena’s Caccia Field in Pocatello. It was Lighthouse’s third state championship.

Voted overall “Player of the Year” was Carey senior Carson Simpson, who set school scoring and rushing records in his final season.

Lighthouse junior quarterback Collin Holloway was named “Offensive Player of the Year” for a second straight season. Lighthouse senior linebacker Brandon Houser was “Defensive Player of the Year.”

“Coach of the Year” was Cory Holloway of Lighthouse Christian.

Carey’s first-team picks were:

Senior Eli Cutler (center and defensive line), senior Tate Squires (offensive line), senior Brigham Parke (tight end and linebacker) and senior Porter Larna (defensive end).

Carey second teamers were junior Hunter Smith (quarterback), freshman Connor Simpson (defensive end), junior Dallin Parke (linebacker) and senior Carson Simpson (safety).

This year’s All-Sawtooth picks:


Coach of the Year—Cory Holloway (Lighthouse).

Overall Player of the Year—Carson Simpson (Carey).

Offensive Player of the Year—Collin Holloway (Lighthouse Christian).

Quarterback—First team: Brady Power (Dietrich). Second team: Hunter Smith (Carey). Honorable mention: Trey Smith (Camas County junior).

Running back—First team: Kade Setoki (Murtaugh), Brandon Houser (Lighthouse), Raygn Robertson (Dietrich).

Second team: Chance Gaskill (Lighthouse), Cody McCrorey (Hagerman), Derrick Rose (Castleford).

Honorable mention: AB Salas (Hagerman).

Center—First team: Eli Cutler (Carey). Second team: Steven Tanguy (Lighthouse Christian). Honorable mention: Kevin Holiday (Lighthouse).

Offensive line—First team:

Karsten Brandsma (Lighthouse Christian), Logan Stephens (Lighthouse), Tate Squires (Carey).

Second team: Payden Zimmers (Dietrich), Garrett Berry and Freddy Martinez (Murtaugh).

Honorable mention: Joey Martinez (Castleford). Dylan Thompson (Hansen), Adrian Gonzalez (Carey).

Tight end—First team: Brigham Parke (Carey), Jett Shaw (Dietrich), Clay Silva (Lighthouse Christian).

Second team: Kolby McClure (Murtaugh), Casper Block and Tyler Munsee (Lighthouse).

Honorable mention: Dallin Parke (Carey), Lewis Gomez (Murtaugh), Ramon Sanchez (Hansen).

Punter—First team: Collin Holloway (Lighthouse). Second team: Brady Power (Dietrich). Honorable mention: Brigham Parke (Carey).


Defensive Player of the Year—Brandon Houser (Lighthouse).

Defensive line—First team: Karsten Brandsma and Casper Block (Lighthouse).

Second team: Steven Tanguy (Lighthouse), Eli Cutler (Carey).

Honorable mention: Payden Zimmers (Dietrich).

Defensive end—First team: Jon Camarillo (Hansen), Keil Setoki (Murtaugh), Porter Larna (Carey).

Second team: Colby Thompson (Camas County), Connor Simpson (Carey), Colton Leitch (Castleford).

Linebacker—First team: Brady Power and Raygn Robertson (Dietrich), Tylee Munsee (Lighthouse), Brigham Parke (Carey).

Second team: Kolby McClure and Garrett Berry (Murtaugh), Chance Gaskill (Lighthouse), Dallin Parke (Carey).

Honorable mention: Chase Gross (Carey), Brady Bennett (Lighthouse), Dawson Kramer (Camas County).

Safety—First team: Kade Setoki (Murtaugh), Collin Holloway (Lighthouse).

Second team: Carson Simpson (Carey), Jett Shaw (Dietrich).

Honorable mention: Derrick Reese (Castleford), Hunter Smith (Carey).

Kicker—First team: Collin Holloway (Lighthouse). Second team: Freddy Martinez (Murtaugh). Honorable mention: Ramon Sanchez (Hansen).

Email the writer: sports@mtexpress.com

Load comments