Fifty-nine Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation alpine ski racers competed at Grand Targhee, at Big Sky and in Jackson Hole over the Jan. 10-12 weekend during the first big racing weekend of 2020.

SVSEF U-19 Bennett Snyder provided a highlight by winning Saturday’s Western Region FIS Tech slalom by 0.41 seconds at Big Sky Resort in Montana. Snyder podiumed in third place in Sunday’s slalom for 99 starters, and was sixth in Friday’s giant slalom race.

U-19s Marit Kaiser (10th overall) and Merumo Ishimari (11th) were the top SVSEF women of 12 at Big Sky.

Jackson Hole Mountain Resort’s Crags/Moran/Lower Werner run was the site of the Wes Barron Speed Series super giant slaloms Friday and Saturday, Jan. 10-11. A total 156 skiers competed including 16 from the SVSEF.

For SVSEF girls, U-16 Paige DeHart clocked a pair of fourth-place times in the 77-racer field. Jessica Blackburn placed fifth overall twice. Also cracking the top 10 were Maya Lightner (8th, 10th) and Logan Lindstrom (7th, 9th).

Top-10 U-16 SVSEF boys in Wyoming super GS were Nils Galloway, Colin Hanna, Taylor Rixon and Carter Sammis.

At Grand Targhee, 136 younger Intermountain Division racers ages 10-and-up ran giant slalom gates Saturday in North Series technical races. Sunday’s races were canceled. Thirty SVSEF kids competed.

U-12 Ruby Smith placed second of 64 girls who started the two-run GS on Big Thunder/Palmers run. For SVSEF boys, U-12s Jay Blackburn, Sawyer Morgan and Huxley Flood were 7-8-9 of 72 boys.

Here are top SVSEF class placings by site and event:


U-21 men: Tucker Scroggins 3-GS, 5-SL.

U-21 women: 2—Hanna Nyquist.

U-19 men: Bennett Snyder 5-GS, 1-SL; Buey Grossman 14-GS, 11-SL; Gunnar Barnwell 15-GS, 13-SL; Ridley Lindstrom 22-GS, 13-SL; Charlie Snyder 23-GS; Nathan Gowe 32-GS, 32-SL; Lucas Parekh 35-GS, 27-SL; Oliver Brockway 40-GS, 30-SL; William Paquette 46-GS, 26-SL; Shaw McCoubrey 65-GS, 67-SL; Finn Mallinen 60-GS.

U-19 women: Marit Kaiser 9-SL; Merumo Ishimaru 10-SL; Carly Walther-Porino 13-SL; Minea Hamalainen 24-SL; Kaija Dybdahl 28-SL; Anhwei Kirk 33-SL; Peyton Sundberg 41-SL; Falon Hanna 49-SL; Sophie Bury 54-SL.


U-16 boys: 6—Nils Galloway. 7—Colin Hanna. 9—Taylor Rixon. 10—Carter Sammis. 18—Cole Curci. 28—Robert Cullen. 34—Jesse Keefe. 36—Tommy Normand.

U-16 girls: 4—Paige DeHart. 5—Jessica Blackburn. 7—Logan Lindstrom. 8—Maya Lightner. 34—Reece Walther-Porino. 36—Hadley Duke. 37—Anabel Viesturs. 46—Sabina Jelvis.


U-14 boys: 4—Santiago Rico.

U-14 girls: 5—Ashelynn Roth.

U-12 boys: 6—Jay Blackburn. 7—Sawyer Morgan. 8—Huxley Flood. 11—Tommy Hovey. 17—Charlie Reid. 19—Will Lamoureux. 24—Wyatt Gilmour.

U-12 girls: 2—Ruby Smith. 9—Frances Goodyear. 13—Leila McGrew. 14—Alyssa Huntsman. 15—Skye Pringle. 19—Skyler Jensen. 20—Ruby Thurston. 21—Caroline Wright. 22—Tessa Lightner. 23—Anna Yuras. 26—Zoe Stern-Pre. 27—Ruby Campbell. 30—Riley Siegel. 31—Savanna McDonald. 34—Lily Larrabee. 35—Elle Palmer.

U-10 boys: 3—Corbin Flood.

Email the writer:

Load comments