Under a new law that takes effect Jan. 1, the Idaho Transportation Department’s Division of Motor Vehicles must establish an online insurance verification system for motor vehicle insurance coverage, and vehicle owners who do not have insurance for two consecutive months risk having their registration suspended.
The law (Idaho code 49-1234) was passed during the 2019 legislative session. It requires the Division of Motor Vehicles to determine monthly whether the owner of a vehicle has insurance. The law applies only to noncommercial vehicles, and excludes trailers and off-highway vehicles.
Owners without insurance coverage for two consecutive months will receive a warning and be given 30 days to provide proof of insurance or obtain an exemption before their registration is suspended. To reinstate a suspended license, owners will need to provide proof of insurance and pay a fee of $75.
Some vehicles are exempt from this mandate. For a full list of frequently asked questions, visit itd.idaho.gov/driveidaho.
According to a press release from the ITD, a notification letter will be sent to affected vehicle owners to alert them of the law change.