Idaho motor-vehicle owners will need to provide proof of insurance for two consecutive months or risk having their registration suspended, beginning in 2020.

The law, which was passed during the 2019 Idaho legislative session, goes into effect in January. It requires the Idaho Transportation Department’s Division of Motor Vehicles to determine monthly whether the owner of a vehicle has insurance. The law applies only to non-commercial vehicles, and excludes trailers and off-highway vehicles.

A notification letter will be sent to affected vehicle owners to alert them of the law change.

Owners without insurance coverage for two consecutive months will receive a warning and be given 30 days to provide proof of insurance or obtain an exemption before their registration is suspended, ITD stated.

To reinstate a suspended license, owners will need to provide proof of insurance and pay a fee of $75.

Some vehicles are exempt from this mandate. For more information, visit itd.idaho.gov/driveidaho.

Load comments