Fosbury wins County Commission seat

Democrat Dick Fosbury was elected to the Blaine County Commission on Tuesday, Nov. 6.

Democrats fortified their foothold in Blaine County on Tuesday, as incumbent Angenie McCleary and Dick Fosbury won seats on the three-member County Commission.

Fosbury, a retired engineer and Olympic gold medalist, earned 6,760 votes to Republican Mick Halverson’s 2,465 votes for the south county’s District 1 seat. Independent Debra Hall, a Bellevue realtor, finished third with 1,005 votes.

With the win, Fosbury will replace longtime Commissioner Larry Schoen, whom he beat in May’s Democratic primary. The two-year term is the first elected post for Fosbury, who currently holds an appointed seat on Blaine County’s Planning and Zoning Commission. He lost his only other run for office in 2014, falling in a race for the District 26 representative to Rep. Steve Miller, R-Fairfield, by 126 votes.

He’ll be joined by incumbent Angenie McCleary, who will add another four-year term to her 10-year run as District 3 commissioner. The Ketchum Democrat defeated Independent Mickey Garcia by a count of 7,494 to 2,134. Tuesday’s win marks the fourth time McCleary outran Garcia for the seat, adding to 2010, 2012 and 2016. She’s never earned less than 75 percent of the vote. 

There were no surprises further down the local ballot, as races for clerk, treasurer, assessor and coroner only featured one candidate each. County Clerk JoLynn Drage and Treasurer John David Davidson, both incumbent Democrats, will stay on in their current roles. Democrat Jim Williams, who works an appraiser in the Assessor’s Office, will take over for his retiring boss Valdi Pace as county assessor.

Coroner Russ Mikel also earned another term after running unopposed under the Republican banner. Once again, he’ll be the only elephant in the room: following Tuesday’s results, eight of nine elected offices in Blaine County will be held by Democrats next year.

For more on state and county elections, pick up the Friday, Nov. 9, edition of the Idaho Mountain Express.


Load comments